WhatsApp is planning to release an update that will allow you to delete your sent messages up to two days, which will significantly change the in-app experience. Previously, you could only delete messages within an hour of sending them.
WhatsApp has made an official announcement via their Twitter profile, citing “Rethinking your message? Now you’ll have a little over 2 days to delete your messages from your chats after you hit send.”
To be more specific, WhatsApp gives you between 2 and 12 hours after pressing the send button in a private or group chat to remove any message. The prior time limit was one hour and eight minutes.
This is a pretty fascinating move made by WhatsApp, however even if you delete a message, the recipient can still see that you did so. The original position where the message will be replaced with the phrase “This message was deleted”. Even if you try to hide your footprints in a chat, they are still visible, which is really annoying.
However, if you use Telegram, you will not be disappointed. When you delete a message in Telegram, it quickly disappears with no sign that the message was removed. Plus the best thing is that you can delete any message in any chat after more than two days, which does not limit you, and Telegram have other cool features as well.
How to delete WhatsApp messages?
- Open WhatsApp and navigate to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
- Tap and hold the message for a second, and it will be highlighted. You will also see options on the screen. (If you need to delete multiple messages, select them too)
- To erase the message, tap “Delete” in iOS or the bin symbol in the top bar in Android.
- You will be asked whether you want to “Delete for Me” or “Delete for Everyone.” Select “Delete for Everyone”.